

MINUTES OF THE

TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE Thursday, December 17, 2020 10:00 a.m. Zoom Teleconference Rapid City, South Dakota

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sara Odden and Ted Johnson – Rapid City Public Works Department, Kip Harrington - Rapid City Department of Community Development, Sarah Gilkerson – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Megan Gould – Rapid Transit Manager, Lt. Cathy Bock – Rapid City Police Department, Bill Rich – Meade County Planning and Equalization Department, Vicki Fisher – Rapid City Department of Community Development, Bob Kaufman – City of Box Elder Public Works Department, Lonnie Harmon – City of Summerset City Administrator, Steve Frooman – City of Rapid City Traffic Engineer and Garth Wadsworth – City of Box Elder Planning Department

MEMBERS ABSENT: Patsy Horton – Rapid City Department of Community Development, Stacy Bartlett – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Joseph Miller – Pennington County Highway Department, Chief Deputy Brian Mueller – Pennington County Sheriff's Office, Brett Burditt – Meade County School District, Alan Kerr – Douglas School District, Britney Molitor – Pennington County Planning Department, Chris Deitz – Rapid City Regional Airport, Chief Jason Dubbs – City of Box Elder Police Department, Dale Pfeifle – Rapid City Public Works Department, Jack Dokken and Lisa Donner – SD Department of Transportation, Ron Merwin – Meade County Sheriff's Department, Dennis Berg – Rapid City School District, Phil Anderson as proxy for Mayor Steve Heilman – City of Piedmont, Bob Eben – Ellsworth Air Force Base, Scott Tegethoff – Meade County Highway

OTHERS PRESENT: Melissa Karpo and Kelly Brennan – Rapid City Department of Community Development, Mark Hoines – Federal Highway Administration

Vice-Chair Harrington called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

General Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

Business

Fisher moved, Harmon seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the October 15, 2020 meeting.

20TP037 – Approve the Southern Meade County East-West Connector Corridor Study – Final Report. The Meade County Moving Forward 2040 Transportation Plan identifies a need for a connection between Erickson Ranch Road and 143rd Avenue. Currently, there is an eight mile gap in east-west transportation connections between Elk Creek Road and Interstate 90. Meade County has also experienced additional demands on the county road system generated by increased development. HDR Engineering Inc. was selected to collect data, develop and analyze corridor alternatives and provide recommendations for a potential east-west corridor study, named the Southern Meade County East-West Connector Corridor Study. Twelve alternatives were identified as



possible locations, then narrowed down to three build alternatives for further analysis. From there, Alternative 5 surfaced as the recommended alignment. This alternative will provide a corridor that can accommodate anticipated growth and provide an additional east/west road alignment approximately equidistant between Interstate 90 and Little Elk Creek Road. Brennan reviewed this report.

Bock and Rich joined the meeting.

Kaufman moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Southern Meade County East-West Connector Corridor Study – Final Report.

20TP039 – Acknowledge the 2021 Transportation Products and Due Dates. Harrington reviewed the 2021 Transportation Products and Due Dates which provides product dates as a workflow guideline for year 2021. Frooman provided additional information on the Traffic Counts.

No action was taken on this item.

20TP041 — Approve the **2021-2024** Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #21-001. Harrington reviewed the 2021-2024 TIP Amendment #21-001 which identifies that the Anamosa Street Structure over Interstate 190 has a low load rating with no practical solution to strengthen the structure. The original project specified a pavement overlay in 2023, and has been modified to a complete structure replacement in 2027.

Fisher moved, Johnson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2021-2024 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #21-001.

20TP042 – Approve the Fiscal Year 2020 Annual Listing of Obligated Projects. Each year the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization is required to develop the Annual Listing of Obligated Transportation Projects identifying the status of the transportation projects shown in the Transportation Improvement Program for fiscal year 2020. Harrington reviewed the listing of Projects with an added revision.

Kaufman moved, Odden seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Revised Fiscal Year 2020 Annual Listing of Obligated Projects.

Election of Officers

Harrington opened the nominations.

Fisher moved, Harmon seconded and motion electing Horton as Chair carried unanimously.

Rich moved, Kaufman seconded and motion electing Harrington as Vice-Chair carried unanimously, with Harrington abstaining from voting.

Update on Construction Projects

Gilkerson provided information on construction projects in the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization. Odden provided information on current Rapid City



construction projects.

Update on Planning Projects

Brennan and Harrington provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:27 a.m.